INEC Unveils Official Presidential, NASS Candidates for 2023 Elections

The list of candidates expected to contest the 2023 presidential and national assembly positions across political parties was Monday evening released by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Displayed by the electoral umpire at its offices nationwide, are names of presidential candidates, and their running mates, as well as those conteding for senatorial and House of Representatives.

Among those whose names were on the list include the presidential candidates of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and his running mate, Kashim Shettima; and Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and his running mate, Ifeanyi Okowa.

The presidential candidate of the Labour Party, LP, Peter Obi was listed alongside his running mate, Dr. Baba Datti Ahmed; while Osita Nnadi, of the Action Peoples Party, APP, and his running mate,  Isa Hamisu made it to the list.

The timetable and schedule of activities for the 2023 General elections released by INEC indicate that political parties have until July 15 to withdraw or replace their candidates and running mates for the presidential and National Assembly elections.

This means that Tinubu, Obi and other presidential candidates who submitted interim names as their running mates have about 19 days to submit the substantive names.

The other presidential candidates are Abiola Kolawole of the Peoples Redemption Party, PRP, and his running mate, Ribi Marshal; Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria People’s Party, NNPP, and his running mate, Johnson Oladipupo; Yabagi Sani of the Action Democratic Party, ADP, and his running mate, Udo Okey-Okoro.

Also in the list are Ado-Ibrahim Abdulmalik of the Young Progressives Party, YPP, and his running mate, Enyinna Kasarachi; Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress, AAC, and his running mate, Garba Magashi; Mamman Dantalle of the Allied Peoples Movement, APM, and his running mate, Ojei Princess.

Chukwudi Umeadi of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, and his running mate, Koli Mohammed; Oluwafemi Adenuga of the Boot Party, BP, and his running mate, Turaku Mustapha also made the list.

Daberechukwu Nwanyanwu of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and his running mate, Ramalan Abubakar; Dumebi Kachikwu of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and his running mate, Ahmed Mani; and Hamsa Almustafa, presidential candidate, Action Aliance (AA) and his running mate, Chukwuka Johnson were displayed in the list.