Reps Confirm New Service Chiefs

Admin 23-Feb-2021 National_Assembly

Halima Bamali

The House of Representatives today ratified and endorsed the appointments of the new service chiefs earlier nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Their endorsement followed a unanimous adoption of the report by the ad hoc committee set up by the House to screen the nominees and report back.

Chairman of the ad-hoc committee, Babajimi Benson, presented m the report earlier at the plenary yesterday, Tuesday,22 February 2021. It was later considered and adopted by the House.

While the House did the screening of the nominees on Wednesday, the Senate had separately screened them on Thursday.

Those involved included Maj. Gen. Lucky Eluonye Onyenuchea lrabor – Chief of Defence Staff; Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru – Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo – Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao – Chief of Air staff.

They are to replace the former army chiefs, comprising Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

In a chat with journalists on Saturday, Benson, who is Chairman of the House Committee on Defence, had disclosed the level of preparedness for the report presentation.

Asked if the report was ready, Benson said the committee was putting some “finishing touches.”

Responding to another question on when the committee would lay the report before the House, the chairman said, “Tuesday.”

Comment Form is loading comments...

Related Posts